Wounded Soul

Letting go is hard,but sometimes holding on is harder.

In the quiet of the night
I try to calm my restless heart.
Stirred by the waking of my demons
At a time I was most vulnerable.

Tossing and turning,
With every hour passing
I hoped I’d find an answer.
But all I felt was emptiness.

Subconsciously,I reached for my phone
dialing that number ever so familiar.
Somehow believing that voice
could calm the turmoil
churning inside of me.

As I held the phone against my ear,
I hoped to hear his voice.
I wanted desperately to confirm
that he still cared,
that his ego wasn’t all he was made of.

My utter disappointment,
to be proved wrong.
But being my adamant self,
once again did I try.
Hoping his heart would melt
and he’d forget all about it.

Tired of the mindless fights
and nonsensical arguments
that tarnished the bond we once shared,
I decided for once to let ego win.
‘Coz maybe sometimes a bruise
is better than a wounded soul.

2 thoughts on “Wounded Soul

  1. lifeconfusions says:

    Awwh Jessss!! This was heartbreakingly beautiful !! Especially the ending ‘Coz maybe sometimes a bruise
    is better than a wounded soul.” , you are one gem of a person. I hope you are alright? I’m so sorry I’ve not been able to check up on, my phone isn’t working so can’t use the instagram 😦 If you need someone to talk to please feel free to pop me an e-mail, I’m here for you. Much love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jessannseq says:

    Thank you so much Zee for reading this.I love reading what you have to say.I love the song!The lyrics are so beautiful.Music that truly touches the soul. ❤
    Don't worry love,I'm great.Thanks for checking up on me ❤ 😀 How are you doing?
    Waiting for our next collab. 😀 😀

    Like

Let me know what you are thinking!

