Forgotten Smile

How can you smile

when hate is what you’ve received all your life.

How can you love,with wounds so deep.

Your heart used,abused and hurt.

How can you give when

all you had was snatched away from you.

How can you forgive

when mercy is alien to you.

 

What do you say to a soul

so broken and battered.

How do you provide rays of comfort ?

 

People told me to make peace with my past

then only could I step towards the future.

At first stubborn was I,

I didn’t want to let go of the pain

‘coz then I’d have nothing to hate.

My life would lose meaning

if I forgave those who hurt me.

 

Days later I got thinking

trying won’t cause any harm.

So each day I made myself

forgive those who caused me pain.

 

As I looked into the mirror each day

I saw a much stronger person,

I was taken aback a little.

“How?” is the question  I keep asking  myself,

how did this come to be?

“Should I embrace this new person I see

or run as far as my legs take me.”

 

I’m beginning to feel

to love and care for people.

I see that hatred being washed away

and I’m feeling the weight lift off day by day.

I think I can feel the corners of my mouth

shape a smile across my face.

I think I’ve found peace,I found happiness.

6 thoughts on “Forgotten Smile

  1. Fiya'Says says:

    So beautiful. One thing I have learnt in my life is that to enjoy life we have to be submissive to God. Never ask ‘WHY God?’ Just accept what’s happening and move on. Being submissive is the first step to get peace of mind :)’

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you are thinking!

